You may have noticed that this is not one one of those blogs that gets updated all the damn time every day. Sorry about that. I’m busy LMLing, and sometimes I don’t have time to post about everything that makes me happy, even though I can assure you I’m appreciating it as it happens.

Or sometimes I get kind of overwhelmed by all the things I’d like to say, and so I don’t end up saying anything at all. But that’s not a very good way to keep a blog, is it?

Well, even though the blog doesn’t get updated every day, I can tell you one does happen almost daily.

Peanut butter. Or almond butter. I’m pro-butter, equal-opportunity nutter, over here.

I can’t tell you how excited I was to spot this mixed nut butter on the shelves of Target a few months ago. I resisted the impulse to buy as long as I could.  $5, people. That’s a lot to pay for an itty-bitty jar. But we all know I’d pay more.

I finally bought it last week. The verdict…

Ugh! It was horrible! I don’t know if it was me, or the butter. But it tasted like chemicals and soap to me. I’m pretty sure it was the butter. It’s a good thing I’m not poisoned, because that’s what it tasted like. I made everyone else I love try it, too. Just to make sure. I’m so thoughtful.

Me: “Oh my gosh, this tastes like acid and I think I might die. Here, try it!”

Sad. Disappointed. Crestfallen.

Until I remembered that I didn’t need to waste $5 on mixed nut nasty butter from Target. I could make my own!

And I did.

1 c. toasted almonds*
1 c. lightly slated, roasted peanuts
1/2 c. pre-ground pecan butter (probably equal to 1 c. whole toasted pecans)

This, I would pay $5 for.  But now I don’t have to.

