New eyeliner:

You’d think it was water the way I go through it. Or toilet paper, the way I go through water. But, every few weeks I find myself in a mad dash to the store on my lunch break to pick up some new eyeliner.

I am usually a little more on the ball when it comes to my toiletry purchases. Face wash, shampoo, toothpaste… those things get low a long time before they run out. I tend to overestimate my shampoo usage. But I always experience something close to utter shock when I discover that my eyeliner pencil is on its last, self-sharpening click–AGAIN!

Why so much eyeliner? I don’t know. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I wasn’t allowed to wear it for the first 18 years of my life. Or the fact that I still don’t know how to apply it now. Or the reality that I look like I’m about 12 years old without it. The only place I really venture out without eyeliner is the gym at 5 in the a.m. They don’t care what I look like there, they just wonder why a preteen is awake at such an obscene hour instead of snuggled into cartoon character sheets and dreaming of Justin Beiber.

It’s not that I can’t go out in public without makeup on. I’ve done it before. But it does make things a little awkward for my husband…and for myself when I get carded for cold medicine.

I’m vain, I know. I also know I love eyeliner. And hairspray. But we’ll  leave that for another day.


