I think this is the fist time I have ever de-healthified a recipe. But it was worth it. Definitely worth it. These are the best cookies I have ever made.

Based on this recipe by Mama Pea

Makes approx. 3 dozen cookies

  • 1 c. flour ( i used half whole wheat and half white)
  • 1 c. quick oats
  • 1 c. crispy rice cereal
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/3 c. each semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate and butterscotch chips
  • 1/4 c. butter, softened
  • 1/2 c. peanut butter
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/2 c.  milk

Preheat oven to 350°. Combine dry ingredients. Cream together butter, sugars, vanilla, milk and peanut butter. Don’t forget the peanut butter. I almost did. What a tragedy that would have been.

Add wet ingredients to dry, mix well, then fold in chocolate and butterscotch chips.

Drop cookies by heaping tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Allow to cool on the pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling.

I will admit, I have not made a ton of cookies thus far in my life. Certainly not many cookies where I have used real butter, additional peanut butter and doubled the chocolate chips. But perhaps this recipe will change that. After all, these are the best cookies I’ve ever made.

