Baking has been the name of my game lately. And why not? Especially when there are holidays to celebrate!

I got this recipe from my friend Steph, who likes to bake as much as I do. It was originally passed along as homemade Oreos, but they turned out more like mini whoopie pies. Fine by me and pretty darn delicious, either way.  However, I did rename them:

St. Patty’s Pies

2 boxes devils food cake mix
1 c. butter or shortening
4 eggs

8 oz. cream cheese
1/2 tsp. mint extract (optional)
4 c. powdered sugargreen food coloring (optional)

SPRINKLES!!

Preheat oven to 350 °. Combine cake mix, butter or shortening and eggs. Mix well. Batter will be extremely stiff (more like a dough).

Scoop  batter into rounded teaspoons and roll into the size of a small marble. Place evenly on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350° for 8 minutes. Do not over bake. Let cool on pan for 4 minutes before transferring to wire rack to finish cooling.

To make frosting: Cream together softened cream cheese, mint extract, food coloring (if using), and powdered sugar.

Frost one cookie and top with another of similar size. Rim with colored sprinkles or leave plain.

This was a really fun recipe, and I can think of loads of themes with different frosting colors, flavorings and sprinkles for various holidays or occasions. How cute would those be for Christmas, dressed up with crushed candy canes? Or for a baby shower in pink and blue? You could also use any variety of cake mix…I think I hear Funfetti calling…

As far as homemade Oreos go, I have not given up. I have an idea up my sleeve. But I have to finish all my St. Patty’s Pies first. Maybe I can find a leprechaun at the end of a rainbow who wants a few. Or Dustin. 😉

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! xoxo

