Baking. What can I say? It makes any day better. Especially when you have a recipe like this:

Homemade (Va)Nilla Wafers


recipe inspired by and bastardized from Mama Pea

1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. granulated sugar or stevia
1/4 c. brown sugar, packed
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbs. milk (I used almond milk, you can use whatever you have)
1 1/3 c. all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream together, butter, both sugars, vanilla and milk.  Add dry ingredients and mix well.  Form dough into a ball and place on a floured surface.  Roll dough about 1/4-1/8 inch thick.  Cut cookies using a 2- inch round cutter, or other shape. Place on a greased or non-stick cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until edges brown.
Variations:

You can also  intentionally over-bake them so the butter and sugar caramelize even more. Those are the best ones. But I don’t have any pictures of those. I ate them, obviously.

Drizzle with caramel and dark chocolate to fancy them up a little…

Or make animal crackers for your darling youth group. I knew there was a reason I bought those cookie cutters.


Kittens and pigs and chickens, oh my! 

Sorry, no lions, tigers or bears. But I promise you won’t miss them! You’ll be too busy relishing the fact that you just made an amazingly delicious, buttery, crispy and cute cookie that is oh-so-much better than anything you’ll find in a box.
