I have worked a few jobs in my day. Some of them required a uniform, some did/do not. I find there are pros and cons to each aspect of dressing for the day.

On one hand, with a uniform, you never have to worry about what to wear. Just slap it on, accessorize, and you’re out the door. But, it does get old after a while. You run out of accessories with which to express your aversion to conformity. You get sick of dressing like a man in black, black, black and shirts three sizes too big because a guy’s small is definitely not a gal’s small. You begin to resent being tied to a company you no longer identify with through your scant wardrobe of options. It happens.

On the other hand, getting to choose what you wear to work every day can be liberating. I can stand in my closet for a good 20 minutes trying to figure out what to wear, which is either a good or bad thing depending on how late I’m running. However, my inner hippie, boho goddess, retro diva and comfort slob alternately, and assuredly, get squashed by “the man” in what is known as a DRESS CODE. Are you kidding me? What do you mean I can’t wear slippers and sweatpants to work? How about jeans that are better quality than my career slacks, with a concert tee and cuffed blazer? No? What a rip off.  At least I can still rock my Jackie-O shades in the car on the way there.

All kidding aside, I am pretty lucky in what I get to wear for the workweek. As long as I don’t show up in one of the previously mentioned no-nos, I don’t get too many raised eyebrows.  Sometimes I push the envelope by wearing flip flops in the summer. But since it’s winter time, I go with the next best thing…sexy socks. Nothing like a little flash of foot when I glance down to make sure my space heater is still plugged in. Stickin’ it to “the man” one fancy footwear choice a t a time. Try it. I bet you’ll smile, too.

 

